Company Projects vs Contact Projects

Support for our integrated Contact Manager, Calendar, and Project Tracker.
Posts: 40
Joined: Wed Oct 06, 2010 6:49 pm
PostPosted: Wed Oct 06, 2010 7:04 pm
In SCC for FMP11 a Project is based around a Contact (person).

Is there a setting to have Projects based around Companies instead?
Or am I looking at some healthy structure/code changes.

For my client the problem is that Contacts change for Companies on a frequent basis, but the Project is always for the Company.
Also they have some Contacts (people) who actually work for more than one Company and sometimes are even part of separate Projects for each Company.

Thus the need for the Project to be "Company centric".

Thanks
SeedCode Staff
SeedCode Staff
Posts: 2764
Joined: Thu Nov 20, 2003 11:01 am
PostPosted: Thu Oct 07, 2010 6:15 am
Hi,

There is no setting for this, but it is kind of latent in the code. Here is what I mean: Projects are already linked to Companies-- there is a company ID in the project record-- but currently the only way to assign the company id is by selecting a contact. The project inherits the company id from the contact: the company ID is actually a lookup.

Now that may work fine and all you have to do is make the display of the company more prominent than that of the contact.

Or you could make a couple changes:

- turn off the lookup of the _id_Company field in Projects

- write a script to select the project's company explicitly. Do this by duplicating our "Select Contact for Project" script and using the _id_Company field in place of the contact ID, and calling the subscript "Select Company { CompanyID ; Multiple Selection }" where we call "Select Contact..."

- then, since the solution is contact centric, you may want to flesh out the Companies layout, adding a portal to that company's projects.

So not really structure changes, but some UI changes.

Hope that helps,

John
John Sindelar
SeedCode
Posts: 40
Joined: Wed Oct 06, 2010 6:49 pm
PostPosted: Sat Oct 09, 2010 7:45 pm
Thanks for the reply.

Almost there...

I am able to set the Company. And clicking/setting "Additional Contacts" is filtering the contacts window to ones only associated with the project's company. I'll be adding a custom script/button in Additional Contacts so one can be set as the (Primary) Contact for the entire project.

However two items are driving me nuts at this stage...
- The conditional formatting change needed for the "Select Company" (was contact) button escapes me... that button/text just never becomes "hidden" once I have a company selected.
- The "Select Company: Warning" is failing to be triggered when I have a Company already selected. If the user clicks the company name (and button noted above) the user goes straight to the Company list, of course this means that if the user clicks Cancel the project loses its company.

Here's the new version of the Select Company for Project script I'm using, did I miss something?

#
If [ Get ( WindowMode ) = 1 ]
Go to Field [ Companies::CompanyName ]
Exit Script [ ]
End If
#
If [ not IsEmpty ( Companies::_id ) ]
Beep
Show Custom Dialog [ Title: "Select Company: Warning"; Message: "This project is already associated with a company; are you sure you wish to continue?"; Buttons: “Continueâ€

Return to SeedCode Calendar

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron
(855) SEEDCODE
[email protected]
Follow us: